Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired

When this article first came to me, my first thought was to name it The Moses Effect. The night before I asked God “When, why and how long?” When I woke up the next day, I turned on the Word Channel and started working. Kenneth Copeland was the first voice I heard and his message was about Jesus. He talked about the pain Jesus endured through the Crucifixion. He explained the pain of having the crown of thorns placed on his head in grave details. The pain of being struck in the head over and over with the crown of thorns on.


“And they struck him on the head with a reed stick, spit on him, and dropped to their knees in mock worship. (Mark 15:19)” NLT-New Living Translation

Copeland went on to explain that struck meant to hit repeatedly, not just one time. He also pointed out that other versions of the bible plainly explains this.

“They kept beating His head with a reed, and spitting on Him, and kneeling and bowing before Him. (Mark 15:19)” NASV-New American Standard Version

“They kept hitting him on the head with a stick, spitting on him, kneeling in front of him, and worshiping him. (Mark 15:19) ISV-International Standard Version

As I listened to Copeland’s account of Christ’s Crucifixion all I kept thinking was “how dare I be sick and tired of being sick and tired?” Yet here I was still wondering “When and how long? When am I going to see a full breakthrough? What about me? The next person to come on was Joyce Meyers. She also brought up the account of the crucifixion, but she went on to talk about how selfish we are (ouch). If I didn’t get my answer through Copeland’s message, it was definitely starting to sink in now.

Joyce went on to say how we are born selfish as a baby and there was no lack of selfishness in us. It was the unselfishness of Christ that gave us the chance to work on not being selfish and that of course is the challenge. She finished her sermon with her famous “What about me chicken dance.” What about me? What about me? What about me?

Although I was starting to get my answer, I still had a nagging thought of “How Long?” How long must I go through? How long must I work hard and not see any fruit from my labor?

The next speaking voice I heard that morning was Joseph Prince, who not only spoke of the Crucifixion and our selfishness, but he talked about why we are made to wait and he used the account of Moses as a way to explain it.

Moses waited 40 years before he could be fully used by God. If you think about it, Moses really waited 80 years because the fist 40 years was spent in Egypt where he literally learned all the Egyptian ways. Moses didn’t know the significance of what God was teaching him in Egypt.

Acts 7:22-23

22 And Moses was learned in all the wisdom of the Egyptians, and was mighty in words and in deeds.

23 And when he was full forty years old, it came into his heart to visit his brethren the children of Israel.

Moses was a man that would go at a drop of a hat. He’d get a vision and he jump all over it, but God wasn’t ready for him yet, because they were not Moses’ visions to jump all over and since he didn’t realize this, he was stuck in a waiting period. At the age of 40 is when Moses decided to take the vision into his own hands and turned into a murderer for it; which in turn sent him on another 40 year wait in the wilderness.

“And seeing one of them suffer wrong, he defended him, and avenged him that was oppressed, and smote the Egyptian: (Acts 7-24)

When God was ready to use Moses, he was afraid to go. This is when God reminded Moses it was him that they would fear, but the God in him. Wow, right?

By the end of the 3 messages by the 3 messengers I was feeling pretty mournful and grateful, because God had literally answered my question; “When, why and how long?”

I was so focused on being Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired that I lost focus. My eyes were no longer on God, they were on myself and my issues and my wants and me, me, me, me. It’s easy to be sick and tired of yourself, especially when you are made to wait because you can only see yourself.

We are born selfish, but when you focus more on yourself than others you are not going anywhere, trust me. You will be tired, depressed, stressed, burdened, the whole nine yards, because we are not made to be alone or achieve things alone or carry our burdens on our own. This reminds me of a photo I once saw.

The people in the top photo were selfish and they starved because of it. The people in the second photo fed others and they all were happy because of it. The same spoons, same pot of soup, the only difference was how they decided to approach it.

The next time you feel sick and tired of being sick and tired ask yourself; “Why does everything always have to be about me?” Then look around and see what kind of network you have around you. Do they resemble the top photo or the second? Do you have the Moses Effect going on and trying to chase a dream without God? Are you trying to complete a task that is really simple if you had someone to help you or you helped someone else? If the answer is yes to one or more of those questions, then you do the math!

“Give, and it will be given to you. Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you. (Luke 6:38).”

I am Lashondra Graves your Social Media Guru. I released my first book a few weeks ago. Please support by purchasing it athttp://www.lulu.com/shop/lashondra-graves/chasing-signs/paperback/product-21817134.html

Connect with me here on LinkedIn at lashondragraves@yahoo.com

Imagine a world filled with people helping each other. That is a world with a lack of needs!

About Lashondra Graves

I am a willing worker of God, ready to go ye therefore! I am Lashondra Graves and I am Social Media. I have 11+ years experience with Social Media Marketing, it is my passion.
This entry was posted in Lashondra Graves Personal Blogs, Spoken by a True Evangelist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment